Welcome to the Midwest Jeepthing

This website is home to the largest club of Jeep owners in the midwest. Feel free to browse the site and maybe even become a "FREE" online member so you can add your rig to our Member Rides section.

Sponsored By
Club Info Member Rides News Events Trail Guide Forums Sponsors My MWJT Logout HOME

Midwest Jeepthing Forums
Profile | Sign UP | Search | Guidelines & FAQs
Forums | Tow Rig Tech | Load range E tires, Air pressure Post Reply Send Topic To a Friend
Topic is 2 Pages Long:    1 2 
Author Topic
loadbreak
High Ridge, MO
MWJT Vendor Relations
Posted - 20 July 2013 17:46  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit or Delete Message  GoTo Member Rides
So I am new to the world of Range E tires for towing. Door says 70 psi for max load.

What is everyone running them at? For towing and around town under light load?

Just curious.

Stalker

In a Jeep
Down by the River, IL
MWJT President
Posted - 20 July 2013 20:9  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit or Delete Message  GoTo Member Rides
I run 65 all around. I tried higher at first, but it wandered all over the road more than it does now.

(Nitto tera grapler tires, Load range E, says 80 psi max on the tire. Door sticker on truck says 65 psi front and 80 psi rear.)

Kooter
Maryland Heights, MO
Online Member
Posted - 20 July 2013 21:31  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit or Delete Message  GoTo Member Rides
I too run around 65lbs on my Michelin LT's.
chrispy
, CO
Online Member
Posted - 20 July 2013 23:8  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit or Delete Message  GoTo Member Rides
just remember, load range E tires have thicker sidewalls that retain heat... be careful not to air them down too far, or the tire can self destruct with very little weight on them. 65PSI should be fine for a 85psi tire, but ive seen people say 'just run them at 35psi', which can kill you and yours.

jeepr
Crestwood, MO
MWJT Webmaster
Posted - 21 July 2013 10:27  Show Profile  Email Poster  Edit or Delete Message  GoTo Member Rides